New Limestone Review is the literary journal of the University of Kentucky’s MFA in Creative Writing program.

Established in 1986, New Limestone Review (originally Limestone) published work from internationally-recognized poets Seamus Heaney and Paul Muldoon and from many noted Kentucky writers, including Wendell Berry, Gurney Norman, Ed McClanahan, Frank X Walker, Maurice Manning, Nikky Finney, and Holly Goddard Jones.

New Limestone Review seeks to bring groundbreaking works of literary art to the web and to a national audience.

Editorial Staff

Nonfiction + Poetry Editor: Mallory Donoghue

Mallory Donoghue is a writer from Indialantic, FL. She received a BA in History from the University of Tennessee. She is an MFA candidate at the University of Kentucky, where she serves as the Visiting Writers Series graduate assistant. Her work is forthcoming in Fourth Genre

Fiction + Poetry Editor: Katie Limberg

Katie Limberg is a fiction writer from Cincinnati, Ohio. She received her BA in English and Creative Writing, and obtained a minor in History from Ohio University and is an MFA candidate at the University of Kentucky. Previously, she has interned at the New Ohio Review.

Nonfiction + Poetry Editor: Jeremy Tavares

Jeremy Tavares is a nonfiction writer, MFA candidate, and graduate instructor at the University of Kentucky. He earned his BA in English from the University of Mississippi in 2003. He has been published in Stonecrop magazine and the Dead Mule.

Fiction + Poetry Editor: Jaydon Pritchard

Jaydon Pritchard is an MFA candidate at the University of Kentucky, hailing from Illinois. He received his BA in English with an emphasis in creative writing from the University of Southern Indiana. He writes primarily fiction. Previously, he interned for the Southern Indiana Review.

Faculty Advisor: Andrew Milward
Andrew Milward was born in Lexington, Kentucky, and grew up in Lawrence, Kansas. A graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, he is the author of the story collections The Agriculture Hall of Fame, which was awarded the Juniper Prize for Fiction by the University of Massachusetts, and I Was a Revolutionary (HarperCollins, 2015), which was awarded the Friends of American Writers Literature Award. His fiction has been a finalist for the National Magazine Award and appeared in many places, including ZoetropeAmerican Short FictionVQRThe Southern ReviewGuernica, as well as Best New American Voices. His first book of nonfiction, Jayhawker: On History, Home, and Basketball was released Fall 2019. Milward has served as the McCreight Fiction Fellow at the University of Wisconsin, a Steinbeck Fellow at San Jose State University, and has received fellowships and awards from the Lannan Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Corporation of Yaddo.

Former Editors

January 2023 – December 2023

Editor-in-Chief + Nonfiction Editor: Akhira Mahal
Poetry Editor: Kate Arden
Fiction Editor: Nick Ruma

August 2022 – May 2023

Editor: Henry Knollenberg
Editor: Clay Shields
Editor: Daniel Collins
Faculty Advisor: Frank X Walker

February 2021 – May 2022

Editor: Allegra Solomon
Editor: Peyton Howard
Editor: Kevin Bond

February 2020 – May 2021

Editor-in-Chief: Gavin Colton
Editor-in-Chief: Emily M. Goldsmith
Fiction Editor: Chan Kelly
Poetry Editor: Gabby Oliver

March 2019 – February 2020

Editor-in-Chief: Zeke Perkins
Managing Editor: Kimberly Glanzman
Fiction Editor: Michael McEwen
Poetry Editor: Dane Ritter
Podcast & Social Media Editor: Ash Baker
Web & Art Editor: Kaylen Rose

April 2018 – February 2019

Editor-in-Chief: Omaria Sanchez Pratt
Managing Editor: Isabelle Johnson
Fiction Editor: Taylor Sarratt
Poetry Editor: Tiara Brown
Digital Media Editor: Jeremy Flick

May 2017 – April 2018

Editor-in-Chief: Kate Tighe-Pigott
Managing Editor: Evan Arneson
Fiction Editor: Austin Baurichter
Poetry Editor: Sophie Weiner
Nonfiction Editor: Austyn Gaffney

January 2017 – May 2017

Editors-in- Chief: Jordan Hubrich & Amanda Corbin
Senior Editors: Chad Gilpin & Gary Thomas Smith
Interns: Chelsie Abney, Kate Heinonen & Julia Mikulec
Faculty Advisors: Julia Johnson & Gurney Norman